Skip to content

It’s been a long time.

April 1, 2010

It’s been a long time.  Hey Bloggees.  It sure has.  Hope someone’s still out there.  I’ve been gone a whole week.  You know how it is, you get swamped.  But, there looks to be some light at the end of the tunnel…which makes a good segue into a very important reason to get this blog out today.

An event.  This Friday.  In Oakland. 

I know.  Some of you aren’t in the Bay Area.  But some of you are.

Anyway, let me get up on the proverbial soapbox.  In the last few years there’s been a huge rise in girls less than the age of eleven (yes, 11 ) involved in prostitution.

I was eighteen when I turned out.  Pretty young, but not eleven.

Why is it happening?  Don’t get me started.  I’ve got theories and thoughts and opinions, and I can get long winded about it in a heartbeat.

Does it feel like life is getting harder, not better? Or am I just getting old?

If I am getting old, that’s good.  Because I used to think I wouldn’t live to get old.  Anyway, back to the matter at hand. 

To raise awareness about this issue Victory Outreach has organized…….

Hear the Cry Candlelight Vigil: Exposing Human  Trafficking

April 2nd, 2010, between 5 and 7 pm

On the steps of City Hall @  1 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza, Oakland California

Here is the rest of the information about what’s happening out there these days.

  • In 2009 over 150 Bay Area minors under age 11 have been sexually exploited
  • In recent years, over 500 children have been involved in prostitution rings
  • Approximately 300,000 children nationwide are at-risk of becoming sexually exploited
  • Infant exposure to human sex trafficking and under age prostitution is increasing epidemically
  • More information on the event can be obtained by calling 510-482-4656

Statistics are cold and heartless, aren’t they.  And you know the thing is with prostitution, it’s easy to turn a blind eye. 

Because if you ask a girl who’s out on the streets if she cares, she’ll tell you “No, I’m fine.”  She’ll tell you how great her man is and how it doesn’t bother her.  She’ll tell you she’s not scared.  She’ll tell you you’re a square and don’t bother her.  She’s free.  She’ll tell you a lot of things.  Most of which she’s convinced herself are true.

And you know why?  She’s a survivor.

But surviving is one thing.  Living is something else entirely. 

It would be nice if we could live our lives instead of survive them.

I, for one, am showing up with my candle.  I hope you do too.

Love & Perseverance

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 9:04 pm

    thank you for writing about these crimes.

    !!!!!

    there are so few people who have ever heard of child prostitution. (i had not until i joined a survivors’ message board and was SHOCKED to see what is going on in the world.) and out of those people who hear, so many choose to not listen. and look away.

    i am glad that you speak up for the children, and i hope that many will hear you and listen.

    • April 8, 2010 4:22 am

      Hi Adrian,

      Thanks for stopping by. Unfortunately, where I come from we’ve heard a lot about child prostitution. We like to think, oh that’s Dickensian, that doesn’t happen now, but actually, it’s on the rise. I feel tired when I think about it. I don’t know the solution. I do know that being silent is not the answer.

Leave a Reply

