Skip to content

Sometimes I get lonely

April 6, 2010

Hello Bloggess.  Sometimes I get lonely.  How about you?  Does it ever seem like everyone is just too busy, busy, busy trying to hustle, hustle, hustle to just stop and talk?  I mean, look at all this blogging, social networking stuff.

Phone conversations go like this…

Hi, wassup?

Hey, wassup with you?

Nothing.  Hey listen, I get to get off this phone.  I’m driving and I just saw the police go by.

Oh, okay, you know, you should really get an earbud so you wouldn’t have to go through this.

I know, I’ve just been too busy.  Anyway, miss you, want to catch up.  Will you Facebook me?

Okay, bye

Damn….Facebook is a verb.  I’m on Facebook.  Sometimes I even just go and look at my page to see if anything’s happened.  It even hurts when my page rating goes down.  It’s addictive.  And you know me, if you can get addicted to it, well then, I am.

So I’m in the shower today and thinking…..what do I blog about?  What do I say?  How do I get, be, act, live, an important life?  You know, this stuff gets to me.   Seems like everyone knows how to be important, or know what they’re doing, or in some way be a celebrity in their own firmament.

Me, I don’t always feel like that.  Still, I want to be rich and famous just like every other misguided individual on this planet.  So what do I do?  I’m not an expert on how to write a great query letter.  I’m not an expert on life (definitely not that.) I’m not an expert on how to get published. 

Oh, by the way, on that subject, I ran into another writer the other day on Facebook and she has a cool blog about her, and others, writing journeys.  She interviews writers who are getting published and she has a few tips on there too.  I’m putting her on my blogroll on the right and here’s a link, as well. http://pennylockwoodehrenkranz.blogspot.com/

Anyway, like I said, sometimes I get lonely.  Because I too, am guilty of the busy, busy, busy got to go and hustle, hustle, hustle state of mind. 

And then what do I do?  Some days I just sit at the computer like a stunned mullet researching things I don’t understand, looking up agents and publishers and god knows what else until I am just so overloaded with information and stressed out I want to scream, or at least eat some chocolate.

So….what to blog about?  Well what if I talk to you just like we really had an opportunity to sit down and chat.  You know, like in the old-time movies.  Would you talk back?

I mean, I have an opinion about everything: from God, to religion, to the CIA, to 911, to magic and metaphysics, to politics, to love, to sex, to prostitution, to the struggle for power, to the culture of celebrity, to an infinite variety of topics.

You may not agree with me.  But I don’t care.  It’s fun to talk.  Plus then I won’t be so stressed out all the time trying to think about ways to be clever and better and more knowledgable and all that other stuff.

And, if I learn anything along the way, I’ll let you know about it too.

Anyway, I’ve got to go.  Because I’m busy, busy, busy and I have to hustle, hustle, hustle.

Love & Perseverance

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 8:48 pm

    Kate, Thanks for adding my blog to your blog roll. I appreciate your support and for sending readers in my direction. If you ever have a question you’d like me to cover, let me know.

    Penny

    • April 7, 2010 6:02 am

      Hi Penny,

      Thanks for kind comment. I meant it, though. Thanks for reaching out. I will think about possible question. Hmmm, she says, with finger at corner of lip, patting hairless cat.

  2. Paul Imel permalink
    April 7, 2010 12:05 am

    hi kate.

    i, for one, think you’d be great fun to sit and talk with. if i ever make it out that way, lunch is on me!

    • April 7, 2010 6:00 am

      Hi Paul,

      Thanks for stopping by. I just got home from revisions class where we read, revise, and agonize. But I love it. And I never, ever forget an offer of lunch, so when you do, you better email 🙂

  3. April 8, 2010 5:18 pm

    Opinions are good! At least when it comes to blogging. The more opinions you have, the more you will engage people in a blog dialogue. Best of luck with your blog, your book, and your search for fame and fortune.

Leave a Reply

