Skip to content

Love & Perseverance

April 26, 2010

Love & Perseverance.  You may have noticed I always sign off with that.  I guess you could say I’ve decided to make it my motto.  Sounds good, doesn’t it?  Sounds pretty spiritually elevated, don’t ya think. 

It shouldn’t be that hard, should it?  After all, it’s only two little words with an ampersand connecting them.

Okay, I’ll just tell you straight out where I’m going with this one.

Usually, when I decide to get something done, I just go ahead and do it, and there I go, all finished, ready and waiting for the next thing.  But this process; of writing, revising, querying, promoting.  It’s intense.  It’s the hardest thing I’ve ever done.  Well maybe not the hardest.  Because once you’ve stood out on a street corner all night jumping in and out of cars with strangers, taking your life in your hands, running from the police, running from the odd nut or two, well, nothing beats that. 

Still, this whole thing takes work and patience and definitely a lot of perseverance.  Bags and bags of that.

Okay, more chances for fun photos here.  Here’s another one off my wall.  That’s a picture of my male alter-ego right there, the one wearing the red and black striped tie.

Don’t get me wrong.  I’m not complaining. I love it. Apart from taking a lot of love, perseverance, patience and hard work, the whole thing’s a lot of fun too.

For instance…Friday night I attended an open mic sponsored the Women’s National Book Association SF Chapter (WNBA SF) at Kepler’s bookstore in Menlo Park.   I read a short excerpt from the last story in the series, Rabbit Hole.  Part of the reading is posted as a caption on my Facebook Album, same title as the story—-if you click my picture to the right, it will take you there.  Anyway, I had a great time.

So….Love & Perseverance….what could be better.   There might be a little sweat equity involved, but the payoff is fabulous.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

