Skip to content

A perfectly perfect day

April 27, 2010

A perfectly perfect day.  Nice mellow title.  Probably won’t get any readers.  Ah, who cares.  I do, on one level, but today, because it is so perfect, on another level, I don’t.

Why all this bliss, you ask?  Well, if you must know, I woke up this morning with words swirling around my head.  Good words, not stringy, dry, harsh words circling around a million times, but new juicy words, different beginnings, solutions to problems, and even though I couldn’t quite hold on to them in my six a.m. brain, still, they alerted me to something going on.  Something happening.

And that feels good.  Then I got up and wrote a poem.  Yeah, me.  That’s right.  And why not.  It felt pretty darn good.

It’s raining here today.  But it’s spring rain.  You know, that nice misty rain that doesn’t pelt down.  Instead it difts down with the wind and settles on the ground in flat patches of water, barely making puddles.  I like that sort of rain.

Anyway, I came  home from yoga and thought, I’m going to tidy up my vanity, the poor dusty thing, and I’ll clean out my closet too, and I’ll listen to all my Cd’s I haven’t listened to in so long, something sunny like Antonio Carlos Jobim, something moody like Randy Crawford, something soulful like Phyllis Hyman, and something beautiful like Miles Davis.

Are you getting the picture?  Okay.  Before I go further, I know.  You’ve got questions.

Kate, what was the poem about? Kate, you wrote about your vanity in your  book, what about a picture?

See, I hear you out there in the ether.

So, not being one to disappoint, first… the poem (Now, remember, I’m not a poet, so be kind.)  And maybe it doesn’t make any sense to anyone else, but so what, here goes.  But I will give you some background.  As  a teenager I went to school in London, and lived in Hong Kong.

Through a Window

Red cars and bicycles

on a tree lined street,

a blue umbrella over boots

hurries around the corner,

and in the distance white apartments

rise up into the mist.

Springtime rain, like London

waters the pavement, like Hong Kong

shrouds the sky in grey.

Life circles, twists, and spirals back,

and in the silence promises wait,

unlocked, remembered.

Ta dum. Oh, and the formerly dusty vanity?  Well, let me proudly present the renovated article.

Doing all this sort of, dare I say it, nurturing type stuff also makes think of a fellow blogger and creativity coach by the name of Mary Knippel (Creativity Mentor, Workshop Leader & Writer) whose workshop I attended at the beginning of spring.  In said workshop, I created a vision board, which I must say, works wonderfully.  On the days I get totally stressed out in my pursuit of all those long held dreams, I look at the vision board and break into tears.  Now that’s stress relief. 

Anyway, I’ve put her blog on my blogroll to the right.  Thanks, Mary.

So, enough of work, enough of blogs, enough of the pursuit of long held dreams on rainy afternoons. 

After all, I wouldn’t want to spoil my perfectly perfect day.

Love & Perseverance

3 Comments leave one →
  1. scoobione permalink
    May 23, 2010 7:58 am

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    • May 25, 2010 11:54 pm

      Thanks! Haven’t blogged in a while, although you will see me back soon.

  2. scoobione permalink
    June 6, 2010 10:52 pm

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian,Earn Free Vouchers / Cash

Leave a Reply

