Skip to content

Pssst, come here, lemme show you something

May 3, 2010

Pssst, come here, lemme show you something.  No really, I mean it.   It’s something important.  A secret. Hey Bloggees, another glorious Monday has rolled around.

You know, Monday, or any othe day of the week for that matter, used to mean nothing to me. 

Wait, No.  I take that back.  Tuesday and Thursday were Vice Nights.  I will explain.  Tuesday and Thursday nights were always set aside by the police as the nights for concentrated efforts on vice, hence, Vice Nights.  Sounds silly doesn’t it.  I’m sure you’re thinking, “Well if everyone knew Tuesday and Thursday were the nights the police were going to patrol extra hard then why not just stay at home?”

Aha.  You obviously do not understand.  First of all, living day to day, you can’t afford to just stay home, and second, well, it’s sort of like a direct challenge.  Catch me if you can and all that.  So I used to really like Monday.  Sort of quiet, sort of orderly.  The beginning of the week for everybody else, just another day for me.

Then the world changed. For the better.  Now I understand the whole Monday blues things.  There you go, having fun on the weekend and then you run right back into Monday, and, if you’re working for someone else, someone else’s idea of what your schedule should be.

Ah, such is life.  But it’s not so bad.  Tuesday and Thursday no longer mean Vice Night,  more like American Idol instead.  (Wait, I’m having a strange upside down confluence of the universe moment here…..good is bad bad is good right is wrong…true false…) Okay, stop.  No more thinking about American Idol.

Okay.  Circling back around to that title.  What have I got to show you?  What’s the big secret?  Alright, here goes. 

Yeah, I know, it’s one of those funny little postcards.

 And what does it all mean? Well for me, it goes like this.

You know, I used to psych myself up every day so I could go out on the streets and put my life on the line and run around all night playing games with the police, all the while truly believing that the only worthwhile thing I owned was my body, and that I better use my smarts to sell it.  That was the very least in this world I could believe in, and so I did.  No disappointment there. 

But still, I was able to believe, and I will admit, many, many times since the world changed for the better, it’s been hard to believe in myself, hard to believe in my talent, hard to believe in a God that truly cares for me, hard to believe that love and perseverance will lead me to a promise of divine goodness.

But this morning, as I was writing my pages of longhand, my pen started making patterns that said,

I am not allowed to give up hope, I am a talented writer, and I believe in myself.

And you know what?  I sort of believe it.

Maybe I do have a product I truly believe in.

Love & Perseverance

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 2:45 pm

    Kate,
    The post card is excellent, thank you for sharing. If you are having challanges with your product, let me know I believe in you and would be happy to share soem of my belief if you need it.

    All the best,
    Tom

Leave a Reply

