Skip to content

Too much thinking

May 6, 2010

Too much thinking.  Is there such a thing? This morning, as I sat writing my three pages of longhand, all of a sudden the world stopped.  I breathed in, and for one moment all I could do was let my mind drift away; into the sun, into the dark green needles of the fir tree across the street, into a place where everything was still.  Then I breathed out.  The moment was gone, and the world was back, spinning out of control, cars chugging down the street below my window with their radios too loud, a train whistling in the distance, and oak leaves shaking in the breeze outside.

But in that quiet moment, a world of thought existed all around me, I guess in the same way that–how many angels, is it?–can dance on the head of a pin.  And then I shook my head and thought to myself, I’m doing too much thinking. I’m supposed to be making headway, supposed to be getting ready for my day, supposed to be getting my mind in order, writing lists and working out the course of my life, but instead, I’m drifting off to a place I can’t even name.

So here I am a few hours later, trying to write about a moment I can’t quite describe. 

I guess I’m like a traveller always moving toward a horizon slipping further into the distance, or a deep sea diver who glimpses phosphorescent lights moving at the bottom of the ocean.

Or maybe I’m simply a writer who thinks too much.

Love & Perseverance

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 1:17 am

    Kate,

    I got a big kick out of your “think too much” post. You may wish to know you’re not alone. Read my Iowa Summer Writing Festival – Rant on my blog and laugh along!

    Lois Roelofs

Leave a Reply

