Skip to content

Mushy

October 23, 2010

Hello there, Friends and Bloggees.  I know it’s been a week since I last sat down to type in my little box, floating along out here in this backwater eddy of the internet, but hey(!), I just made it through the first week of a new job.  Not all good, not that well paid, but not all bad either.  Turns out it’s an okay place to work with some okay people. So we’ll see what happens.

What does all that have to do with the title?  Well, I have no idea – yet.  But by the end of this blog I might and you might, too  (I hope. ) That whole train of thought was pretty mushy, wasn’t it?  See what I mean?

So here goes.

I was sitting outside this morning at my favorite place up the street, drinking coffee and enjoying a scone in the semi-cold, slightly rainy, transitional sort of Bay Area weather so typical in October when I paused in the middle of writing my morning pages and wrote…my thinking feels so mushy….  Then I went back and underlined it twice.

That’s when I knew I had the title for my Blog.  I hate it when that happens.

Because when it does, I have to get out here and go out on a limb so I can discover why I have been mandated to use said title.  It’s happened to me before (see “Hey There!” – 7/1/10 and “With a Vengeance” – 7/3/10.)

And to be given a word like mushy to write about.  Well, what am I going to do with that?  After all, mushy is how baby food is described.  Mushy is all about overly sentimental, trite story lines in romantic movies with unbelievable happy endings.  Mushy describes soft, squishy, vulnerable feelings, almost embarrassing in their baby softness.

Give me words like razor-sharp, delineated, driven, dynamic, clear, incisive, sharp.  Those words feel good; speedy, cool, rushing down the straight-away to a goal I’ve got my eyes glued on.  Whew! I can practically feel the wind whistling past my ears.  Now those words I can like. 

But MUSHY!?

So who knows what will happen.  Because as I write what I think changes and meanders, finding its own path as it drifts downstream in the sunshine, following the course of a powerful river making its way to the sea.  And then suddenly, the future becomes mushy; as in unclear, undefined, unknown, unfettered, uncontrolled, and yes, even unimagined.

Hmmm, maybe mushy isn’t so bad after all.

Love & Perseverance

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

