Skip to content

I dream of Catalina

November 13, 2010

Hey there Friends and Bloggees.  Here we go again.  Is it really November 13?  I guess it is. And it’s been 3 weeks (gasp) since I’ve sat down to type in the little box.  So, before I start donning the hair shirt and getting out the cat-o-nine tails to punish myself for not keeping up my creative commitments, I am just going to say “Oh well,” and keep on dreaming of Catalina.

Obviously, as you can see from above, dreaming of Catalina is my way of saying something else.  What it is, I don’t know yet, but by the end of this blog maybe we’ll both find out.  Who knows, maybe you even do the same sort of thing.

Here goes.

So this morning I’m sitting in the sun at the cafe down the street, drinking coffee and eating the scone I’ve been waiting for all week, surrounded by other people who are also enjoying a sunny November morning with their significant other, kids, dogs, etc.  You know the drill. 

Anyway, after about 45 minutes hanging out with the sun in my eyes I’m feeling pretty relaxed, feeling pretty much a part of this friendly little scene, when all of a sudden – Bam! – I’m dreaming about Catalina (the island off the coast of California – in case you were confused.)

And just that quickly I’m thinking about how much warmer the sun would be if I were in a cafe in Catalina, what the bike ride home would be like if I had a place in Catalina, and what sort of people I might meet in Catalina.

Are you getting the picture?

Now here’s the kicker.  I’ve never been to Catalina Island.  I don’t even know what it’s really like.  But I’ve always wanted to go and sometimes I even get on Google World and browse the satellite photos for a while, imagining its beaches and harbors, its ranches and marinas.

Aah Catalina…. A life of sunshine, fun, and relaxation.

But – Hey!  What about my little cafe down the street, with the great scones and the gourmet coffee? What about the nice people with their kids and their dogs?

Rewind.

I looked up and the sun was in my eyes, the clock on the tower was moving forward, I was once again an observer, and it was time to go.  Damn, I thought, there I go again.  Never quite satisfied, never quite committing to the rock-solid present, just a little out of sync, maybe one degree removed from participation.

Aah, Catalina, thy name is imagination.  And I wouldn’t give it up for all the world.

Love & Perseverance

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

