Skip to content

For Magic: In Memoriam (4.7.2004 – 2.16.2012)

February 18, 2012

Hey there Blogges,

How are you?  Me, I haven’t been so good.  Out there surviving a job, sick and on interferon treatment for Hepatitis C and waiting for another heart procedure.  But still, I’m okay.  I’m here, I’m clean and sober, and somehow I know that God is on my side through it all.

I’m here today to blog about someone I love, someone who has made the passage.  That someone is my cat, Magic, and he was definitely a big someone to me.  He was my baby boy and I’m not ashamed to admit it.  I’m sure that many of you have also felt the terrible grief of losing your pet to sickness; of having to make the decision to have them put to sleep.  For me, the decision came a few days ago on Thursday, February 16th at 10:00 am.   I will miss him sorely.

So here are a few words, some pictures and a poem in his memoriam.

I never wrote too much about Magic because he was always such a seamless part of my life – a part of me – and someone who I thought would always be there.  He did so much for me.  He let me be loving and unselfish.  He asked me to be soft and sweet to him (and I was.) He required that I should be responsible and giving.  And he didn’t demand these things of me or yell at me to get them.  All he did was love me.  Unconditionally.

He taught me how to be committted and give 150% of myself.  He taught me to enjoy a moment in the sun and how to watch the rain.  He taught me to be excited about the birds singing in the trees in the morning.  He taught me that cuddling is as necessary as breathing.  He taught me that all the love I could give could be returned tenfold.  He taught me to never give up.  And in the end he taught me that death is to be accepted and that there is only freedom.


The Passage
I lay twisted and broken on the forest floor
cool pine needles touching my hands
and as shadows slid round and behind me
my breath grew still, was no more.

Down through the earth and sky I fell
deep into sweet icy waters
until rocked by the currents
I drifted away and the stars
rushed up to meet me.

I opened my eyes in the grey before dawn
no chorus of birds in the trees
but then small sounds came to my ears
So I knew.

I will never forget him and I will always love him.  He really was magical, just like his name.  I will be back soon with more blogs, more about the book and more about the journey in general.  I will try to give 150% and be free, just like he is.

Love & Perseverance

Kate

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kimberly Munday permalink
    February 18, 2012 6:58 pm

    Hey sweetie,
    So sorry about Magic the Kitty! After my Duchess had to be put down (she was with me for 13 years, just like Sammy-dog) I was bereft. With the passing of both of those pets my grief was greater than it was when my father died or over my divorce.

    At first I thought that there was something missing in my make-up for Sammy-dog to be so much more important than either my Dad or my Former Husband. However, after considerable thought I realized that she had given so much more of herself to me than either one of the humans had, my emotions were in the correct order.

    After putting Duchess down I had to think long and hard about putting myself out there again, leaving myself open to hurt like that. Eventually practicality won out and we adopted Duchess. The twins were alone for a few hours when they got home from school and when I got home from work and I wanted “someone” there I could trust. Of course I swore to myself I would not get as close to “this” dog.

    Thirteen years later, this last September 26th, the day before my birthday which was the same day I had to have Samantha put down, Duchess just could not make it anymore so our Vetenarian came out to the house and took care of her. I have her ashes which I plan to spread somewhere around the Berkeley Dog Park, which she loved.

    Once again I went through the inner debate about whether or not to get another dog. This time even Harry got involved and was against us adopting another “family member”. But then I couldn’t go on without giving a home to another abandoned doggy. Plus, I am a selfish person and Harry travels so much that I decided I needed somebody to talk to.

    Now we have Sheba, she is my 3 ring circus on 4 paws! Hanging out with her provides me with a never ending amount of adventure. She has turned our backyard into an imaginary hunting place for chipmunks, I think that is what she is looking for. Everyday we go out and she looks all over the place for them as long as I am there to watch her. It is hysterical.

    Kate, I am not trying to make this about me, I am hoping that once you have a decent time to morn, I usually need about 3 to 4 months, that you adopt another kitty-kat. Now only do you have so much to give to an animal with no where to go, but they have much to give you in return, as you know.

    If you have trouble with a name, you could have a naming contest. Heck, you know so many people it would be more than bi……coastal! What fun!

    I love you, I should hope you know that. Still moving out there, eventually. Hope you feel better.
    Love you,
    Kimberly
    In fact, I am going to take Sheba for a ride right now! Later gator!

    • February 18, 2012 9:02 pm

      Thanks Kim, it’s good to know that the grief will get easier. Luv u 2.

      • February 21, 2012 2:23 am

        Hello Teresa,

        Thank you so much. I may even take you up on that offer of support. Keep trailblazing!

        Kate

  2. February 20, 2012 7:18 pm

    Dear Kate,
    I am so sad for you. Please be gentle with yourself, mourning for your sweet kitty Magic. I picture your Magic being greeted by Bigfoot (the forgiving-kitty who had taught me to “look first, before stepping backward!”). I send prayers that your treatment is 100% helpful; that water, nutritious foods, rest, gentle exercise, nature, quiet, funny reads and delightful movies, and considerate people make everyday joyful for you. You are the beautiful protagonist! Heal fast, heal strong. If you want another gal on your list (to keep you company when you go in for treatments), please add me. Big hugs & kisses! Teresa aka Coach Teresa LeYung-Ryan (who cannot wait to read your book Over the Edge)

Leave a Reply

